American Elephants


Fred Drops Out by American Elephant
January 22, 2008, 7:48 pm
Filed under: Politics | Tags: , , ,

Fred Thompson

Fred Thompson, whom I still think would make an excellent choice for vice-president (hint, hint, Rudy), has ended his campaign for president of the United States.

“Today, I have withdrawn my candidacy for president of the United States. I hope that my country and my party have benefited from our having made this effort,” the former Tennessee senator said in a brief statement.

Thompson’s fate was sealed last Saturday in the South Carolina primary, when he finished third in a state that he had said he needed to win. [read more]

I’ve liked Thompson from the beginning; he was certainly the most reliably conservative of the lot. But, when it came right down to it, he never really seemed like he cared about winning that much. Kind of a disqualifier as far as presidential candidates go.

UPDATE:  I should also add that Fred Thompson’s mother has been very ill in the hospital for several days now, while all this was going on. I hope everyone will join me in  praying for Fred’s mother and the whole Thompson family.



Run, Ralph, Run! by American Elephant
January 22, 2008, 5:41 am
Filed under: Politics | Tags: , ,

I can already see the veins popping and heads spinning over at DailyKos if Nader were to run and the Republican were to win by a small margin. That alone would be worth a contribution to his campaign.

MONTREAL (Reuters) – Consumer advocate Ralph Nader said on Monday he will decide soon on whether to make a another bid for the White House in 2008, eight years after playing a key role as a third party presidential candidate.

“I’ll decide in about a month,” he said in an interview broadcast on CBC Radio’s Daybreak show in Montreal. [read more]




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,718 other followers

