American Elephants


Fred Drops Out by American Elephant
January 22, 2008, 7:48 pm
Filed under: Politics | Tags: , , ,

Fred Thompson

Fred Thompson, whom I still think would make an excellent choice for vice-president (hint, hint, Rudy), has ended his campaign for president of the United States.

“Today, I have withdrawn my candidacy for president of the United States. I hope that my country and my party have benefited from our having made this effort,” the former Tennessee senator said in a brief statement.

Thompson’s fate was sealed last Saturday in the South Carolina primary, when he finished third in a state that he had said he needed to win. [read more]

I’ve liked Thompson from the beginning; he was certainly the most reliably conservative of the lot. But, when it came right down to it, he never really seemed like he cared about winning that much. Kind of a disqualifier as far as presidential candidates go.

UPDATE:  I should also add that Fred Thompson’s mother has been very ill in the hospital for several days now, while all this was going on. I hope everyone will join me in  praying for Fred’s mother and the whole Thompson family.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Interesting – I posted something very similar earlier today! I think Thompson could have gotten it if he had entered the race with more enthusiasm. I really liked him and I’m sorry to see him go.

Comment by Dube

I posted on this news too. I’m pretty sad about it.

Comment by renaissanceguy

Looking over the web it looks like a lot of people agreed. The conservative principles were there, but he never really seemed to be in it to win it. Jay Leno joked, “Fred Thompson dropped out of the race today — the important question is, will anyone notice?”

Comment by American Elephant




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,429 other followers

