American Elephants


The Environmental Themes of Aronofsky’s “Noah” by The Elephant's Child

I have not seen Noah, nor do I intend to. Saw the trailers, and Noah as an environmentalist and vegetarian with really bad dialogue left me thinking there were better ways to spend my time.

This summary of, um, “creative interpretation or heretical imagination” — or Noah’s top five environmental intrusions into the biblical textual account convinced me that, much as I like Russell Crowe, I would pass on this one.

The environmental notions of the movie show the extent of the culture wars.

  1. Man’s primary sin is that of destroying the environment.
  2. God prefers animals to humans.
  3. Man is an unwelcome intrusion on the environment.
  4. Taking dominion over the earth means ravaging it.
  5. Man’s task is to reduce his environmental footprint.

The explanations of each theme are here. The author says:

Aronofsky himself sees the movie as an environmentalist sermon of sorts, with anthropogenic global warming as our latest evil to combat. “The water is rising, and we already saw it once,” he commented to CNN on the supposed climate effects predicted by the United Nations. “We are living the second chance that was given to Noah.”

Sounds like a religion to me. The culture wars are getting exceedingly strange.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What really galls me to no end is the fact that this producer – an atheist – chooses The Book of Genesis/Noah – an turns it into a clusterfarck of radical environmentalism including population control.
While I’m not surprised – it still offends me. I would never pay to see such a gaia movie!

Comment by cali

Well, it’s just so terminally stupid. It seems to me that there is enough possibility in the story of Noah to create a good movie. But then the Left believes in global warming, and I’d be willing to be that none of them have ever seriously studied up on it at all. Those who don’t believe are just evil, stupid, racist, etc.

Comment by The Elephant's Child




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,715 other followers

