American Elephants


The New World of Bacon! by The Elephant's Child

bacon

I assumed that I was done with the food posts, but the current mania for all things bacon interfered. I made the mistake of searching for an image of bacon on Google images. Ooops! We have bacon dresses, bacon bras, a bacon man’s suit, a bacon basket for scrambled eggs, bacon candy, bacon ice cream, bacon gumballs, a child’s bacon costume, bacon cupcakes, chocolate covered bacon, a bacon attaché case, bacon soda, bacon toothpaste, Kevin Bacon, bacon deodorant, and a few other things that would spoil your taste for bacon for some time.

Another search produced a cooking site: endless simmer which features” 100 ways to use a strip of bacon” (with pictures) and recipes to go with each picture, some of which look really good.  The Food Network does “50 Things to Make with Bacon” again with recipes.and delish.com has “Bizarre Bacon: 12 Weird Bacon Products You Won’t Believe.

At that point I’d had enough. I knew that there was a major food fad going on with bacon, but I had no idea how extensive it was.There are websites just about bacon. There are uses too embarrassing to mention. We never quit bacon during all the talk about saturated fat, but it was more Sunday morning with sourdough pancakes. Long ago I used to stuff a hot dog with a long skinny piece of cheddar cheese and then wrap the whole thing in a slice of bacon, but that was a really long time ago. It was really good too.

ADDENDUM: I should mention that the price of bacon is climbing sharply from bacon enthusiasm and a virus that affects baby pigs with a fatal diarrhea. As they say in the investment business, buy on dips.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

There’s a place I like to try and get to whenever I get to DC that makes it’s version of the bacon cheeseburger – not a paltry 2 or 3 strips, but a full half-pound of bacon, 6 slices of cheese (sharp cheddar, pepper jack, and American) with a half-pound burger. It’s in Capitol Hill, but they just opened a 2nd one in Georgetown. Try it with the toasted marshmallow shake should get to DC… your cholesterol levels will probably never forgive me, but you’ll likely remember me in your will.

Like

Comment by Lon Mead




Leave a comment