American Elephants


April 15 IRS DAY! by The Elephant's Child
April 15, 2015, 9:51 pm
Filed under: Politics | Tags: , ,

I have always done my own taxes, as sort of a personal character-building effort. And I stubbornly refuse to hand over my money until the last minute. Silly, I could save a lot of time and grief if I just paid someone else to do it, but I’m stubborn, and wallow in the irritation. This year was especially annoying because as I was copying off the final page of my return, I found a noxious sloppy error, and of course it was the figure that changed everything else on every page.

So for all you other stubborn souls out there who are rushing to get your return in the mailbox before midnight, good on you! This little exercise makes us more attentive when Congress starts debating tax-reform. For those of you who allow the federal government to withhold your money, earn interest on it, and don’t really even know how much taxes you paid — but just the size of your refund, which you celebrate as some kind of free money. Fie upon you! You don’t think of yourselves as taxpayers, and watch closely to see how the government is wasting your money, and how as soon as they get your money they stop thinking of it as taxpayer money and start thinking of it as their money for which they have no respect whatsoever. The federal government has no money of its own.

I’m for a flat tax, file on a postcard, and a government without hundreds of agencies and thousands of bureaucrats, a smaller, simpler government wouldn’t cost us anywhere nearly as much.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

