American Elephants


The Encounter Between 9 Serious Men and One Large Ego. by The Elephant's Child

Donald_Trump__3158264bThe subject of the day is the debates, and Donald Trump. He does seem to suck all of the air out of the room.

My father would have described him with a rather old-fashioned word, “blowhard.” His candidacy can be summed-up as — I am Trump, I am very famous and very rich and you should vote for me.

Trump popped up just in time for the Republican Debates, loudly punching what is a hot button for many on the Right,  President Obama’s personal repeal, on his own “executive authority,” of the United States of America’s immigration laws. They have watched the trains with hundreds of illegals on top of the boxcars, they have watched them arrive, be sent all over the United States, and are inclined to blame it on Mexico.

Trump bellowed that he would build a big wall, a gigantic wall and make Mexico pay for it, and he might put in a big door for legal immigrants. Voilá, problem solved. Except it’s a shallow and superficial answer. Most of the immigrants have not been Mexican. It’s absurd to suggest that the Mexican government would pay for it.

It’s a huge and real problem, and nobody seems to know how to deal with it except to say that we must reform our immigration laws. Democrats want more Democrat voters, and their goal is to get them all registered to vote as quickly as possible. But this is not a column about immigration, but about Trump. He makes no serious effort in behalf of any issue, nor seems to have the discipline to master an issue.

Asked about ruling out a third-party run, he said if you nominate somebody I respect, then maybe he won’t. That sounds like somebody who has only been a Republican for the last few minutes.

(That’s not a nice picture, but I couldn’t resist. People always wonder — ‘What’s with the hair?’)


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I see the Trump hair, and this is always the first thing I think of…

“…and I ran, I ran so far away…”

Comment by Lon Mead

I see the resemblance, but don’t get the reference. What am I missing? Thanks for your earlier kind wishes. I now feel that I may live. I don’t know what this bug was, but it was a bad one.

Comment by The Elephant's Child

That’s Mike Score of the 80’s band Flock of Seagulls; the line is the chorus to one of their hits.

My mind works in mysterious ways.

Comment by Lon Mead




Leave a Reply

