American Elephants


I’m Sorry, So Sorry, by The Elephant's Child
October 19, 2015, 6:33 am
Filed under: Blogging, Domestic Policy, Education, Humor | Tags: , ,

f2a53ce9061abec8d9accca51719ece6

Sorry about the missing blogging. My elderly car gave up the ghost, and I am trying to buy a new one.  We no longer have an auto-row here, but sort of  four scattered ones, and some dealers are in adjacent towns, All very complicated. I haven’t done this for a long time.  I have to read up, study up and make decisions.

There are lots of good things in the archives. Just click on something in the category cloud.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So, if you got rid of the Packard, there, What did you wind up with? Inquiring motorheads want to know.

Comment by Lon Mead

My car was not quite as old as the Packard, not as elegant, but it was old. I had it for 24 years! I’d never really bothered to add it up, and I was shocked. It was a very ordinary Toyota Corolla. Am driving a rental Toyota, 2013 or 14 and I don’t like it. Haven’t got a new one yet, but I think I’ve narrowed it down to a Mazda 3 or a Honda Civic. Any advice? I’m always looking for advice.

Comment by The Elephant's Child

I will confess my bias and say that I am an unapologetic big Mopar man (I have a 2013 Chrysler 300S and a 2010 Dodge Ram Big Horn edition pickup). That said, between the two you mentioned, I prefer the Mazda for the features, the looks, and the handling. If that’s the range you’re looking in, I’ll also suggest the Dodge Dart (but NOT the Chrysler 200 – there are some issues with the transmission that I’m not sure they’ve ironed out), the Toyota Corolla (I’m not fond of the interior, but they are reliable and nice to drive), or even the Ford Focus. If you wanted to bump it up a notch, the Kia Optima can be dressed out quite nicely for the low $30K’s.

I just helped a friend buy her first new car. She went with the new Jeep Renegade. Unusual looks, but; good gas mileage, plenty of room for its size, good options, and drives pretty good on our curvy mountain roads. She got one with 4×4 and a manual transmission, which may not be to your liking, but I haven’t heard anything bad about them from anyone who has bought one.

BTW, my first car was a 1980 Toyota Corolla that I drove for almost ten years, putting just over 250,000 miles on it before it was stolen in 1990. I miss that car sometimes.

Comment by Lon Mead




Leave a Reply

