American Elephants


A New Year. No Resolutions, Only Hope. by The Elephant's Child

590_new_year_on_the_calendar

A new year. I’ve always resisted the idea that the change of the numerical designation of a year on the calendar is a big deal. I don’t do resolutions. Not sure if I ever did, but I have too frequently promised myself that tomorrow I will …, and next week I will …, and you probably know how that goes. I have discarded a lot of stuff that should have been discarded long ago, but that was another broken resolution.

I do have an extensive picture file on my computer, and I deleted Hillary, which took some doing. I had a lot of pictures of Hillary, only some of them flattering. I deleted the rest of the Clintons as well. I took great pleasure in deleting Harry Reid, and Barbara Boxer, and at least the first term of President Obama—the ones with the halos. Don’t try to tell me those were accidental. I could have believed it with 3 or 4, but dozens?

Democrat operatives try not to miss any chance of swaying public opinion. It’s been said that the 2012 election was decided by Hurricane Sandy and the picture of Obama hugging Donna Vanzant, who had just seen her marina destroyed. And I was struck by the White House photo of President Obama being pensive in the Green Room with the good light from the window. That meant he had to leave the Oval Office, go to the Green Room, lean on the back of a red chair with green wallpaper in the background, to look pensive. Uh Huh. It would be nice if opinions were meant to be influenced by deeds rather than visual propaganda.

President Obama has said that he wants to make the transition as easy and helpful as he can, that he plans to stick around in Washington and fight every move of the new president, and is embarked on a program to flood the administration with as many executive orders and regulations as he can, since Mr. Trump has threatened to eliminate as many of the executive orders and cancel as many of the regulations as he can.

Obama’s going to make the job as difficult as he can, and he is ramping up his supporters to try to save ObamaCare. The administration’s contempt for the Constitution could not be more obvious. He clearly learned nothing, nothing at all, from George W. Bush’s graceful and helpful exit. And continued to blame everything on GWB for the next four years. Character counts.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy New Year, EC!

Like

Comment by Lon Mead

And to you and yours, Lon. Hope this one is better than last year.

Like

Comment by The Elephant's Child




Leave a Reply

