American Elephants


Interesting Sidelights on “the News” by The Elephant's Child
September 15, 2023, 10:57 pm
Filed under: Politics

I am a “glutton” for what is usually characterized as “the News”. I want to be current on whatever is happening in the world, which probably means simply that I don’t want to be “astonished” by what happens. I want to be more or less prepared and at least “kinda-sorta” expecting whatever happens. No strange flock of other-worldly vehicles landing in Washington D.C. to take over our government. Or lesser surprises either, as far as that goes.

Those who disseminate the “news” also want more readership, and are inclined to include a “celebrity” in their piece, if possible. I am deeply uninterested in what the “news” thinks of as “celebrities” that will make their short essay more attractive to readers. I am deeply uninterested in “celebrities”, their business lives, their romantic lives, their work lives and their fashion lives. The “news” would get more of my attention if they did not include any “celebrities” whatsoever. I am deeply interested in the thoughts and ideas of noted scholars, historians, and even politicians if they are not currently in the middle of a campaign for office. I want to know what is happening in our world, correctly. I’m more interested in ordinary people than in so-called “celebrities” who get major attention from the media.

Are you interested in “celebrities”? Do you care what someone who has once been in a movie has to say about current events or current politics? The press seems to assume that because we recognize a name, we are interested in work of their minds or the words that might come out of their mouths. Not the case. “Celebrities” are celebrities because the media seems to think we care about what they have to say. Unfortunately, that is not true.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment