American Elephants


December 19th by The Elephant's Child
December 19, 2022, 3:24 pm
Filed under: Politics

Snowed last night in this Seattle suburb. On the level we have maybe 1/4 inch where it hasn’t been disturbed. Not exactly what one would call “impressive!” It does, however, look white against dark leaves, and on neighboring roofs. Sky is a fairly uniform very light gray, And my twinkling light far off to the South is still twinkling. Unless I get something more drastic, like changing from twinkle to flashing, I’ll ignore it for the present.

Snow is not only not impressive, but not either pretty nor even vaguely attractive. Not even enough to make any streets slick, either. Perhaps the higher hills have a little more. In a way, this is worse than a few inches, for you don’t know what has happened a few miles away or on the next hill.

I would really like to know what that twinkling light is. Sirens down on the main east-west through street. Undoubtedly a traffic miscreant, sirens abruptly stopped. I really don’t like having my local knowledge filtered through a far-away radio or TV station. But my view off to the South doesn’t offer all that much information. I’m limited to that and what my computer and radio tell me, and that’s not much.